Jump to content
Safeguarding standards group A

National safeguarding training, learning and development standards - group A

Important points to note

These standards refer to some role examples, but do not identify all roles and responsibilities across the sector. It is incumbent, therefore, on organisations to identify within their own workforce which roles fit into the specific groups.

When determining appropriate training, learning and development for each individual member of staff, the organisation will need to satisfy itself which group each staff member will fit into.

If organisations or managers are unsure of which group is the appropriate one, and the role may straddle more than one group, the expectation is that the practitioner will be trained up to the higher group. For example, if a worker straddles group B and C, then they should be trained at group C level.

Roles and responsibilities

Group A practitioners are all staff who join a public or voluntary sector organisation or agency in Wales. The training, learning and development standards are also suitable for those in private sector settings, volunteers and elected members of local authorities.

The standards aim to give you an understanding about safeguarding and what you must do in cases of actual or potential harm or abuse.

When looking at the standards across the groups, it may look as if they are repeated, however, practitioners in different groups will need to have more detailed knowledge and understanding because of the responsibilities they have.

Therefore, the training, learning and development provided for each group will explore the same topics in more depth. The training, learning and development framework will help to illustrate this.

Practitioners included in group A are required to be aware of safeguarding matters and therefore the standards in this group are set to reflect the minimum level of knowledge and practice required for their role. For example, a group A practitioner will be aware that there is law that safeguards people.

Group A safeguarding training module

Memorable principles
  • I know what the term safeguarding means
  • I know what to look out for
  • I know who to report to.

Training, learning and development standards (group A)

a) How to work in ways that safeguard people from abuse, harm and neglect.

  1. What’s meant by the term ‘safeguarding’.
  2. The main categories of abuse and neglect.
  3. Common signs and symptoms associated with abuse, harm and neglect.
  4. Other situational risk[1] areas that may lead to abuse, harm and neglect.
  5. Overview of the legal framework and what it means in practice, including an awareness of Part 7 of the Social Services and Well-being (Wales) Act 2014 and their own agency policy.
  6. How the legal framework supports people’s rights to be protected from abuse, harm and neglect.
  7. The roles of different agencies and others involved in safeguarding people’s welfare, in the context of the setting.
  8. The role and responsibilities of practitioners in safeguarding.
  9. Uphold the rights of people, families and carers.

b) The factors, situations and actions that could lead or contribute to abuse, harm or neglect.

  1. Why some people could be more at risk from abuse, harm or neglect.
  2. How someone’s situation can increase the risk of abuse, harm or neglect, for example, adverse childhood experiences.
  3. Why abuse may not be disclosed by people, family, friends or practitioners, including volunteers.

c) How to report, respond and record concerns or allegations related to safeguarding.

  1. Why it’s important to report any concerns about possible abuse, harm or neglect and everyone’s duty to do this.
  2. How and when to report concerns – have an understanding of your agency or employer’s reporting process or mechanisms.
  3. What should be reported and recorded.
  4. How to respond to suspected, disclosed or alleged harm, abuse or neglect.
  5. Actions to take and actions to avoid if harm, abuse or neglect is suspected, disclosed or alleged.
  6. Boundaries of confidentiality[2] in relation to safeguarding and information that must be shared.
  7. Potential barriers to reporting or raising concerns.
  8. Actions to be taken where there are ongoing concerns about abuse, harm or neglect or where concerns have not been addressed after reporting.
  9. What the term ‘whistleblowing’ means.

[1] Risk areas can include e-safety and domestic abuse

[2] Caldicott Principles: Eight principles to make sure people's information is kept confidential and used appropriately. National Data Guardian, 2020

First published: 28 October 2022
Last updated: 2 October 2023
Series last updated: 2 October 2023
Download this page as a PDF (30.1 KB) Download this series as a PDF (33.3 KB)
These files might not be fully accessible