Jump to content
Safeguarding and protection in dementia care

Safeguarding is about protecting children and adults from abuse or neglect and educating those around them to recognise the signs and dangers.

The five types of abuse

The Social Services and Well-being (Wales) Act 2014 outlines five types of abuse:

  • physical
  • sexual
  • psychological
  • financial
  • neglect

The definition of an adult at risk

The Act describes an adult at risk as someone who:

  • is experiencing or is at risk of abuse or neglect
  • has care and support needs (whether or not their local authority is meeting any of those needs), and
  • as a result of those needs is unable to protect them self against the abuse or neglect or the risk of it.

You have a duty to report adults at risk to the local authority where the person lives.

Ensure that you have the appropriate level of safeguarding training for your role.

Useful resources

Find out more about safeguarding and protection in dementia care.

Safeguarding training

Case studies and training about safeguarding

We want your feedback

Help us to improve the Dementia resource for care professionals by telling us what you think about it in our short four question survey.

First published: 16 October 2018
Last updated: 9 November 2022
Download this page as a PDF (26.9 KB)
This file might not be fully accessible